The Adventures of Jasper: Lost In Stookum Valley

I am a late bloomer to graphic novels. In fact I frankly
hate the phrase itself. I had read graphic novel adaptations of various Agatha
Christie tales, Sherlock Holmes etc…but they left a bitter taste….I am only at
home with albums- (remember the old quaint but perfectly cozy phrase we used to
give for full length comics) and I boast the complete collection of Tintin and
Asterix albums published in English. And one thing I can tell you graphic novel
adaptations are definitely not everyone’s cup of tea…but an album written
solely to published and read as an album…..with each line, dot and coloring  approved by the author/ creator makes
fascinating reading…..and that’s why Tintin and Asterix still rule the world.
That’s why Spielberg decides to make a Tintin movie after close to thirty years
after the death of its creator and Gerard Depardieu decides to act as Obelix in
the 2012 movie based on an album published in 1966.

But no Tintin albums have been published in the last 30 odd
years…and we have to wait close to five years for a new Asterix to be published
and my reading diet was severely affected. When out of the blue when I got hold
of Glen Lovett’s two albums (yup I am going to stick with this phrase), my joy
knew no bounds. Initially, I was cautious- would this be one of those horrible
Tintin/Asterix pastiches and I am glad that I was WRONG. That Glen Lovett had
been influenced by Herge is obvious. The finesse to detail, the deftness in
stroke and the exciting vibrancy one relishes in each Herge panel/ frame is
present in this adventure series also. But other than that there is no comparison
between the two. 

The first book in the series is “Lost in Skookum Valley”-
where we get introduced to the protagonists. Ruby, a feisty teenager with a
zany sense of adventure and her companion Jasper, the handsome Siberian Husky.
While on sled skating in the mountains Ruby and Jasper are caught in an
avalanche and the duo are separated. Ruby believes that her darling pup would
have survived the avalanche and goes on a massive hunt to find her dear one. At
the same time, Ruby is aware of the presence of poachers and she fears whether
her little husky would be mistaken for a wolf. How the duo finally succeeds in
their attempt forms the crux of the story.

The Adventures of
Jasper: Lost In Stookum Valley

Glen Lovett
Lovett Pictures Inc (2013)
ISBN B00C1SS1KU
Reviewed by Narayan Radhakrishnan for Rebecca’s Reads (5/13)

Leave a comment